Bartering: The Lost Art

Although nearly everyone has heard about the power of Craigslist.org for rentals and jobs, there is also a special section for barter and trade. While for many living in the 21st century, bartering is a lost art, Craigslists and other websites are bringing  it back to life by allowing you to post what you have in exchange for what you need. And when you live in funky little Austin the posts are well….weird.

189883_hair_care_32

   For example, a MacBook for hair products here.

123808_laptop-reflections_221

And if you are not in the mood to give up the prized MacBook for Texas-sized hair there are plenty of other more useful trade suggestions, including Wii games, movies, even culinary services for free facials by a licensed professional. And as crazy as it might seem put your stuff up there, everyone has stuff they want to get rid of and EVERYONE is trying to save money! Consider trading homes for your next vacation and have a chick flick moment a-la- The Holiday when you are planning you next vacation! It shouldn’t be hard since EVERYONE wants to be in Austin.

7 responses to “Bartering: The Lost Art

  1. This is a really cool post! I love the idea of bartering, or trading things for other things in return! This is cool! I will check it out!

  2. This is an awesome idea! I had actually never seen the bartering section on craigslist. I love the way you segued into The Holiday 🙂 loved that movie!

  3. Wow! I love this! I have said all my life that we should just give up on money and go back to the barter system. Now if you will excuse me, I have some toothpaste i hope to exchange fora a toaster.

  4. Maybe I am a little behind, but, in relation to this post, I just found out today that the Campus Computer store allows students to trade in their old electronics (computers, ipods) for credit towards purchases at the store! Their Web site offers a better explanation…
    http://hied.eztradein.com/hied/

  5. I had no idea this existed. Very cool. I don’t know if I would trade a Mac Book for hair products, but maybe someone will trade my old records for something cool.
    A friend of mine also recently had success talking the price of cigarettes down at a corner store. I think this was only b/c she’s cute, though.

  6. I would love to know if this person ever received her mac computer! haha. Those are two very random things she was trying to exchange… a gamer’s computer and a ton of hair products that only a hairdresser would know what to do with.

    I love the idea that people give things away on CraigsList too. The free section is always fun to browse and although I have never gotten anything off if it before, they often have useful items.

  7. Pingback: Coupons, wonderful coupons! « Keep Austin Cheap

Leave a Reply

