Saving Money and the Environment!

Photo by Morgan Tepsic via Flickr Creative Commons 2.0 Attribution license

Photo by Morgan Tepsic via Flickr Creative Commons 2.0 Attribution license

Since going green is such a hot topic now days, it is super easy to find ways to help the environment.  It seems that almost everywhere you look there is a new “go green do this _____” possibility thrown at you.  And think of all the businesses/companies that have incorporated going green into their slogans.  Miley Cyrus even has a song about it on her latest CD.  Ok, maybe that’s taking a little too far…

So the point is, with all the constant reminders of ways to go green, it is also super easy to forget about them.  Or at least some of them.  And sometimes, going green isn’t always the cheapest option.  But wait, there’s good news!

Refilling your ink cartridges instead of buying new ones is one of these go green possibilities that I feel like often gets forgotten about!  Not only does it save you money, it also saves our environment by sending one less thrown out cartridge to our already overloaded landfills! 

I recommend tyring Cartridge World on South Lamar to refill your cartridges!  The location is convenient, they’re open from 8-6 and if you’re worried about having to wait, dont!

“In many cases you won’t have to wait at all!  Our stores carry an assortment of the more common cartridges already refilled or remanufactured, ready-to-go.  Just trade in your empty and you’re on your way!”

Their Web site provides several alarming facts about the “environmental impact of printer cartridges” such as “a laser cartridge thrown into landfill can take up to 450 years to decompose” or “70 percent of used printer cartridges throughout the world are currently being thrown out.”  I highly recommend reading more, as it will definitely encourage you to take your cartridges to get refilled if you already are not!

And to give you an idea of just how much you can save on money… My printer requires a HP 56 black ink cartridge.  If I were to buy a brand new one it would cost me $23.99, however, if I take my cartridge to Cartridge World it only costs me $12.99!  That’s half the price!  And all refilled cartridges from Cartridge World are 100% guaranteed.  So, if you get home and it is not printing well, bring it back and get a new one completely free of charge.  Now I’m happy and so is the environment!

P.S.  I hear the Co-Op also refills cartridges if Cartridge World is not convenient for you! 😉

Post By Kristin White

7 responses to “Saving Money and the Environment!

  1. I think some office supply stores will offer a discount on items if you bring in your used ink cartridges. I’m not sure which specific ones though. They want to encourage proper disposal so they let you bring in your cartridge for an incentive.

  2. Now they just need upgrade and refill toner cartridges as well.

    Thanks for the tip Kristin!

  3. Yea, I know that Office Max does refill Dell cartridges because that is where I take mine!

  4. This seems like a pretty good idea. Every little bit helps.

  5. I have had my cartridges refilled at the co-op for half the price of buying a new one. It’s really easy and quick – you take your old ones in and they call you when they have been refilled. My only complaint, however, is that they seemed to run out a little more quickly – I guess there’s no way to tell how full they are, but I’d like to give them the benefit of the doubt and hope they don’t rip you off!

  6. DEFINITLY not a rip off.

Leave a Reply

